Laserfiche WebLink
Kammy Hill <br />From: Elizabeth Chamberlain <br />Sent: Wednesday, November 01, 2017 6:55 PM <br />To: Kammy Hill <br />Subject: FW: Short -term rentals <br />From: O'Neills [mailto:wwoneills @bmi.net] <br />Sent: Wednesday, November 1, 2017 9:20 AM <br />To: Allen Pomraning <apomraning @wallawallawa.gov >; Jim Barrow <jbarrow @wallawallawa.gov >; Barbara Clark <br /><bclark @wallawallawa.gov >; Jerry Cummins <jcummins @wallawallawa.gov >; Dick Morgan <br /><dmorgan @wallawallawa.gov >; Steve Moss <SMoss @wallawallawa.gov >; Tom Scribner <TScribner @wallawallawa.gov> <br />Cc: Nabiel Shawa <nshawa @wallawallawa.gov >; Elizabeth Chamberlain <echamberlain @wallawallawa.gov> <br />Subject: Short -term rentals <br />Dear Council Member, <br />My husband and I have lived in Walla Walla for 30 years, moving here when our children were very young. Raising our <br />children in this neighborhood has been a great experience, and they have taken many memories with them into <br />adulthood of a place where they knew the people in their neighborhood cared about them. Our home is located in the <br />neighborhood southeast of downtown, where many homes have become vacation rentals. Our neighborhood has been <br />affected by the vacation rentals in several ways, but the most significant for us is the loss of neighbors, the fabric of life <br />in Walla Walla for many of us. Carlan Bradshaw summarized our views very well in a recent letter to the Union Bulletin: <br />httr): / /www. union - bulletin.com /opinion /letters to editor / short - term - rentals- belone- in- commercial- <br />zones /article 7f34b8fa- b9d7- 11e7- ab8d- b728ff81f04c.html <br />We agree that residents should have the right to live safely in an area with real neighbors, families, and friends; that <br />property rights and good zoning should apply to everyone and should be enforced fairly, and that non -owner occupied <br />short -term rentals are clearly a commercial business and belong in commercial zones. <br />Thank you for considering our views in your decision on the future of short -term vacation rentals. <br />Sincerely, <br />Sue & Charles O'Neill <br />376 S. Palouse St. <br />Walla Walla, WA <br />* * * * * * SPECIAL PUBLIC DISCLOSURE NOTICE TO RECIPIENT(S): Information contained in any <br />communication to or from the City of Walla Walla, including attachments, may be subject to the disclosure <br />requirements of Washington's Public Records Act, Ch. 42.56 RCW. <br />